Friday, December 4, 2009

The Seven Virtues..

Last time I've posted something about The Seven Deadly sins that include: "Lust", "Gluttony", "Greed", "Sloth", "Wrath", "Envy", and "Pride". You can read the complete post here. Basically, the seven deadly sins are those things we should avoid. On the contrary there are also exist elements as the counter-balancing set of values that we should adopt. I always agree that life is about balancing act. It's all about yin and yang, good and bad, happy and sad, positive and negative. And so does this virtue. As an ordinary human, mistakes often happened. But we can also try to balance it with other things that we can do in this life. Below is the list.

The seven virtues:
  1. Faith is belief in the right things (including the virtues!).
  2. Hope is taking a positive future view, that good will prevail.
  3. Charity is concern for, and active helping of, others.
  4. Fortitude is never giving up.
  5. Justice is being fair and equitable with others.
  6. Prudence is care of and moderation with money.
  7. Temperance is moderation of needed things and abstinence from things which are not needed.
The first three of these are known as the Spiritual Virtues, whilst the last four are called the Chief or Natural Virtues. The Natural Virtues had already been defined by Greek philosophers, whilst the Spiritual Virtues are a slight variation on St. Paul's trio of Love, Hope and Faith (due to variation in translation from the original: Charity and Love arguably have a high level of overlap).

(source from - images via here)


Rachel // Nourish said...

What a beautiful and inspiring post, thank you. I love your blog! xx

boya arsila said...

Thank You=)It's a very nice of you..xoxo