Thursday, July 23, 2009

The Seven Deadly Sins

What do you know about 'The Seven Deadly Sins'? I often hear the term but I have absolutely no idea what it is about. When I look up on the web, it says that 'The Seven Deadly Sins' is also known as the Capital Vices or Cardinal Sins, is a classification of the most objectionable vices which has been used since early Christian times to educate and instruct followers concerning (immoral) fallen man's tendency to sin. It consists of "Lust", "Gluttony", "Greed", "Sloth", "Wrath", "Envy", and "Pride".

But these seven deadly sins I'm posting is a bit different from the original deadly sins in a ways that it was made to guide us to our daily life attitudes and behaviour. So, you want to know what those sins are? Here goes...

  1. Waiting to be happy
    One of the biggest misconceptions ever is that once you’re successful, once you own a house, when you have a lot of money, or once you’re retired, you’ll finally be happy.
    But the truth is, you need happiness to achieve all of that in the first place.
    There’s an excellent text by Crystal Boyd from her book “Happiness is a Journey.” It reminds readers to not wait to be happy. And she does so in a really profound way that everyone can relate to. Remember, the longer you wait to be happy the less time you’ll actually have to be happy.
  2. Achieving success without helping others
    If you truly want to be successful then you can’t focus your entire efforts on yourself. You must help other people achieve their goals and their own success.
    There’s an old saying that the road to success is lonely, but it won’t be when you help others.
  3. Belittling the dreams of others
    Your dreams aren’t superior to any other person’s dreams.
  4. Complacency
    It’s one thing to be satisfied with what you have, but it’s another story when you’ve completely settled.When you settle and don’t create any new dreams to go after, you’ve basically given up.
  5. Not questioning
    One of the greatest things we can do for ourselves is to question our lives and things in it as much as possible.
    Questions like:
    - Why me?
    - Why not me?
    - Do I really love what I’m doing?
    We don’t need to have the answers right away, but we must keep thinking.
  6. Not attempt to change the world
    Changing the world is not as hard as it may seem. Even if you change the community and world around you, you’re doing a lot. Simple acts can create drastic change.
  7. Fearing
    The whole point of the original seven deadly sins was to instill fear in people. But living in fear isn’t living. Even if you’ve committed some of these sins don’t fear; acknowledging you’ve done so is all the forgiveness you need.

(source from via via justbesplendid.tumblr)

No comments: