Thursday, September 23, 2010


I'm sure most of us familiar with The Seven Deadly Sins (Lust, Gluttony, Greed, Laziness, Wrath, Envy, Pride). But how about the opposite of those sins? Have you ever thought about it? On my previouse posting, I was talking about some balance in life, in which certain thing exist because the opposite thing exists too. The same thing applies to this so-called "Deadly Sins". It's called "The Seven Virtues". I stumbled upon this amazing post from Want to know what those virtues are? Here goes...

The Seven Virtues

When Pope Gregory defined the seven deadly sins that we should avoid, he also included a counter-balancing set of values that we should espouse and adopt. These are:

  1. Faith is belief in the right things (including the virtues!).
  2. Hope is taking a positive future view, that good will prevail.
  3. Charity is concern for, and active helping of, others.
  4. Fortitude is never giving up.
  5. Justice is being fair and equitable with others.
  6. Prudence is care of and moderation with money.
  7. Temperance is moderation of needed things and abstinence from things which are not needed.
(article source: - image source:,